Thoughts on the Sony RX100 V

Based on the specs it seems like the perfect camera. Small and lightweight, with an EVF, image stabilization and fast lens.

But then, I looked at the sample images at dpreview.com and, especially the ones shot at the widest end (where I would want to use it a lot), the images look soft, with purple fringing. Not very impressive. I know that Henri Cartier-Bresson says that sharpness is a bourgeois concept, and maybe once you reduce the photos to Instagram-size, you won’t notice the softness, but for a thousand dollars (which sounds like a lot of money to me) I want a camera that has a sharp lens.

One thought on “Thoughts on the Sony RX100 V

  1. Every so often, I get intrigued by Sony’s latest RX100 incarnation. But then I’m put off by the price and the fact that the small camera is fiddly to use. Not to mention, historically I haven’t been crazy about Sony’s color, though it does seem to be improving.

    Like

Leave a Reply

