The soul of film

Unlike digital photos, photos taken on film have a soul.

If you scan the negative and turn it into a digital picture, you destroy the soul. In fact, those who are sensitive to such things can feel the soul screaming in agony as the scanner does its job.

The only way to preserve the soul of the photo is to make silver gelatin prints using traditional darkroom methods.

* * *

Just a theory I concocted, you shouldn’t necessarily take it seriously.

One thought on “The soul of film

  1. I respectfully disagree. Just look at reddit.com/r/analog and you will see a ton of photos that to me, look way different because they were shot with film.
    Don’t get me wrong, I love digital and so far, I have not taken a film photo in ages, but I plan to get back to it as I think it’s a different process to photograph and to process the image afterwards.
    By the way, great blog! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

