Brooklyn Beckham, photographer

Brooklyn Beckham, son of the famous soccer player David Beckham, has 10 million Instagram followers (who knew?), and has parlayed his fame into a photo book.

Commenters are photography website PetaPixel are furious about it!

I do think that the elephant silhouette and the blurry restaurant photo are examples of pretty bad photography. I see that he uses a Leica rangefinder. Maybe he should try using a less expensive camera with autofocus. Even Robert Frank had problems focusing his Leica. When I looked at The Americans exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art a few years ago, I was struck by how many of his photos were misfocused. And Brooklyn Beckham is no Robert Frank.

Interesting, isn’t it, how people who are really rich buy Leicas because they think that it’s the most expensive camera so it must take the best photos.

I realize that I’m a lousy photographer. And I know that a Leica wouldn’t make me any better. But if I was famous, people would still want to see my lousy photographs, and that would be cool.

Leave a Reply

